Perhaps one of the most common deficiencies seen during the survey of an Assisted Living Facility is the failure to train (or keep a record of training) employees along with properly documenting the paperwork required to be employed in the facility. Check out the regulation below, provided by the Virginia Department of Social Services for how to ensure your employee training will satisfy the requirements of the state:

22VAC40-73-210. Direct care staff training.

  1. In a facility licensed only for residential living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 14 hours of training annually.
  2. In a facility licensed for both residential and assisted living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 18 hours of training annually.
  3. Training for the first year shall commence no later than 60 days after employment.
  4. The training shall be in addition to (i) required first aid training; (ii) CPR training, if taken; and (iii) for medication aides, continuing education required by the Virginia Board of Nursing.
  5. The training shall be relevant to the population in care and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, or conferences.
  6. At least two of the required hours of training shall focus on infection control and prevention. When adults with mental impairments reside in the facility, at least four of the required hours shall focus on topics related to residents’ mental impairments.
  7. Documentation of the type of training received, the entity that provided the training, number of hours of training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the facility in a manner that allows for identification by an individual staff person and is considered part of the staff member’s record.

EXCEPTION: Direct care staff who have licensed health care professionals or certified nurse aides shall attend at least 12 hours of annual training.

Top Takeaways:

  • In a facility licensed for both residential and assisted living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 18 hours of training annually.

Continuing education is key for the success of your staff and a superior level of care for your residents. Surveyors will pull staff files at random and audit the training section to ensure you are compliant with this. Have a system in place to track the continuing education of staff is paramount to avoiding a tag.

  • Training for the first year shall commence no later than 60 days after employment.

Get these initial training done as soon as possible to avoid being tagged by the DOSS. It is recommended to have them completed prior to the staff providing care to residents.